Cruise control? - Honda CTX1300 Forum
 26Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 86 Old 12-25-2013, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Adirondack Mountains
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Cruise control?

Looks like(?) electronic cruise is not an option Next favorite is Vista Cruise, (if it works) then Throttlemeister. Only one I have not owned is electronic and the few times I've tried it I liked it. Probably wouldn't be a deal breaker though. If I had to go with Throttlemeister I would take it off my existing ride and get the guts to make it work. I gave one away on a trade and won't do that again, to expensive.

I do as much work as possible and will have questions on maintenance to help decide weather to trade or not. Like throttle body sync, valve adjustments, tire changes and special tools needed. Or anything else anybody can think of.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can answer any of this.
John
Adk.IBO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 86 Old 01-03-2014, 08:17 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
cruise

Murphskits.com they have aftermarket kits for cruise control. Also carry ST13 stuff.
sleepngbear likes this.
a99miata is offline  
post #3 of 86 Old 01-06-2014, 04:24 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: North Florida
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Analog vs. Digital Cruise

I've got a friend that has a Honda VFR1200 and just put a cruise on it. However, with the FI, computer and mapping of the carbs he had to go digital. A traditional analog Audiovox servo controlled set up wouldn't work. He said it was pretty dang hard and would have been impossible with a vetted electrical design that he got. Just seems like for $300-$600 Honda would put the connectors and buttons to add it. **** I can go to Harley and have cruise added (in store) for ~$300-$400 to almost and Street Glide or cruiser they have. And they are years behind in technology compared to Honda. Alright time to get off my soap box... Thanks for listening..

GO NOLES !!
CloudedThoughts is offline  
 
post #4 of 86 Old 01-07-2014, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
aftermarket is the only option it seems.
cheeken is offline  
post #5 of 86 Old 01-07-2014, 11:36 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Adirondack Mountains
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I probably would not go to that much trouble as a throttle lock has worked for me since my first one in 1980.
Adk.IBO is offline  
post #6 of 86 Old 01-07-2014, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
How hard would it be to install a kit like that? I never attempted to do anything like this, always stuck to basic first modifications
SoCalRyder is offline  
post #7 of 86 Old 01-07-2014, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Adirondack Mountains
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I know if it was me, I'd have to see the instructions that came with whatever kit was being used before I could decide whether to purchase or not.
Adk.IBO is offline  
post #8 of 86 Old 01-08-2014, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
I'd be really nervous to screw something up with an after market install. Last thing I'd want to do is make the throttle not work properly. Is there another similar bike that does offer cruise control on it? Preferably one from Honda?
Panther Dash is offline  
post #9 of 86 Old 01-08-2014, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panther Dash View Post
I'd be really nervous to screw something up with an after market install. Last thing I'd want to do is make the throttle not work properly. Is there another similar bike that does offer cruise control on it? Preferably one from Honda?
you can always pay an experienced tech to do it, just make sure you get someone that is credible.
SoCalRyder is offline  
post #10 of 86 Old 01-16-2014, 06:54 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I'd be really nervous to screw something up with an after market install. Last thing I'd want to do is make the throttle not work properly. Is there another similar bike that does offer cruise control on it? Preferably one from Honda?

It is how we learn...
a99miata is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome