19Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 Old 06-25-2017, 06:49 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Phone/GPS mounts

Being a new owner, I am just getting started here. When I bought my bike, I didn't have time to carefully research mounts for GPS and phones. I am now ready to get one. My phone is an LG G5 and I have a couple of older Garmin GPS units (not Zumo).

First, my phone is too big to fit inside either of the dinky pockets on the "tank". Those really should have been made larger. So that means I have to mount it.

My dealer showed me some mounts that had a heavy duty magnet base that held the unit in place pretty securely (it took quite a force to remove it from the display model). But I wondered about it not yielding any to vibration since there was no cushion at all without any plastic or rubber grip. I was also concerned about the long term effect of the magnet on the screens of a phone or GPS. Magnets can do a lot of damage over time.

I looked at the iOttie Active Edge which looks pretty cool, but it only lists specific phone models, although it looks like it would work on at least my phone.

So I thought I would consult the experts here. Is there a mount that provides easy install, easy mounting and removal of both a phone or a GPS, offers almost universal device accommodation, and gives it some cushion from bumps and vibration? If there isn't a universal one, I am more focused on mounting the phone.

Another issue I see is that, since the phone won't fit inside the tank pocket, it can only be charged with the pocket open and bouncing up and down while riding. Has anyone considered making a small hole on the edge of the pocket cover to allow a cable through it and still keep it closed? Seems like this could be done with a Dremel or similar tool.

Thanks for any advice.

Craig

Honda Z50A (sold)
Kawasaki KS125 (sold)
Kawasaki KZ650 (sold)
Honda V45 Magna (sold)
Honda VTX 1300r