CTX 1300 Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone who has the bike now, or seen the manual...:rolleyes:
What are the Factory reccomended break in processes for engine , brakes, and suspension? :confused:
Being an engineer myself, I strongly believe in doing such to break in as the engineers intended for cars and M/Cs. Yes there are those who believe in just getting on it (or in) and go.:eek:
Today a break in is probably not going to make that big a difference in premature failures. BUT, what it will/should do is get all the components settled in place properly:p for long term optimum performance (engine,brakes, suspension), fuel effeiciency, as well as overall longevity with minimal degradation. :D

Let the arguments begin?

·
Super Moderator
2,162 Posts
I think you're going to have as many opinions on this as there are riders. What they've been saying 99% of the time for as long as I can remember is for the first 500 miles, keep the RPMs down under 3k, vary the throttle as much as possible, but don't hammer it. Even that which in itself cannot always be agreed upon is open to interpretation.

·
Super Moderator
5,447 Posts
I wouldn't be looking for rider opinions. i know those will be as many as there are number of riders. Just what the manual or dealer/service dept. states please. We'll go from there. :D

·
Registered
273 Posts
I wouldn't be looking for rider opinions. i know those will be as many as there are number of riders. Just what the manual or dealer/service dept. states please. We'll go from there. :D
It's almost never ending, almost always a some super long thread on it or many to read.
Probably best to use what the dealer/manual says and use it as a reference point

·
Super Moderator
2,162 Posts