CTX 1300 Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Found the site on google and have been reading along for a few weeks. Empty nester now looking for first big bike. Have read everything I can about the CTX but wanted to ask a question of the experts as I am a novice. I don't want to drop this kind of money and have a bad first experience.

I am concerned about the wind turbulence because I am 6'4" with a 35" inseam. Seems most of the comments about the tall screen option are favorable but also seems most of you are not this tall. I would be a longer distance weekend exploration type of rider.

Any feedback would be appreciated. How do I get comfortable with this windscreen issue?

Thanks in advance!

· Registered
797 Posts
The best plan with any touring type motorcycle is to have plenty of extra money in your budget for trying various configurations. If you are lucky you'll hit it right the first time and you'll have money left over. Sometimes you can go through a whole bunch of configurations and never find one that fits.

You can save a little money by buying slightly used stuff that didn't fit some of the other folks on the forum.

If you plan to keep the bike ten years or more, an extra $1000 in the budget is not that big of a deal. If you intend to ride the bike only a few years and then trade it, you don't really want to spend a lot of money on windshields that you haven't tested.

I spent a lot of money trying to get a good windshield on my CTX700. I finally gave up and traded the bike for a CTX1300.

I got lucky with the windshield on my first CTX1300. I bought the Honda tall and it was very close to "just right". I tweaked it with a Laminar Lip and it's just about perfect for my shape and size.