CTX 1300 Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Super Moderator
5,721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Had a question from a member over on the ST forum about this. He was looking at a CTX1300 and wondered about how it compares with the ST1100 or ST1300 for lane splitting or if there is any issue with that? In Iowa lane splitting is not permitted and I haven't been anywhere else on the bike where it is so I have no experience with it. If you have or used to have an ST of any flavor and live where lane splitting is permitted please chime in here. He may be lurking :D

btw- I looked up to be sure and the ST1100 is 36.8 inches wide overall, same for the ST1300.

·
Premium Member
324 Posts
Here in Texas the bill for lane splitting is up for vote. I talked to a Texas congressman last week and he said they just don't have enough information or support to pass the bill. It's not looking good for Texas

·
Premium Member
1,061 Posts
Other than the width, how would it differ?

The WA state Leg is considering allowing lane splitting.

·
Registered
279 Posts
its hard enough to ride in my own lane with all the morons on the road I cant imagine trying to split between 2 cars or morons and still stay alive
yup almost died yesterday due to one of those morons
not that that has anything to do with the question at hand
sorry

·
Super Moderator
5,721 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Not looking for an opinion on the practice of lane splitting, or whether or not it's allowed where you are, just a comparison from those who have done it with a ST vs the CTX. Thanks.

btw- I also don't know that I could trust enough in the BDC to lane split in any state. I understand that in states where it is allowed it is expected by all locals. Here in Iowa I know that if it were allowed tomorrow I would die of old age before the BDC would get used to the idea and not be tempted, or worse, to open a door or turn in on a rider who was passing by.

·
Registered
48 Posts