CTX 1300 Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am from New York . I have been riding for about 20 years or so. I have a CtX 1300 D Black. I am interested in knowing about up grades and weather or not they were worth doing.

·
Super Moderator
5,721 Posts
Welcome @Love2Ride!

I haven't done many "up grades" or farkles since I feel this bike is so well fitted from the factory. Just a few minor things I think are important. Like a Gerbing heated gloves controller (I ride in cold weather, like well below zero*F sometimes), and a GPS power connection to find my way back when I go get lost somewhere, and a 12v power socket in the saddlebag to recharge my cell when I've been out too long, and a loud horn since I like to be heard if not seen. Other things I am considering but haven't decided for sure if they are worth doing for me. Everyone is different and has different wants and needs. check out the forums in the CTX1300 Tech section for many ideas that have been added to the CTX and read about what works for different folks here. :)
edit: forgot to mention I did put on the tall shield as the shorty came stock on mine. I don't feel the tall is required for longer (or colder) rides but it does make it much more comfortable. I may yet put the shorty on for during summer riding.

·
Registered
2,006 Posts
@Love2Ride,
Congrats on the new ride....Black D is a great choice!!!!!:smileygarden_de_ban
Tall windshield, accessory plug, top case, and new grips.
I made some hand guards out of plexi glass as I don't need (in Alabama) the extra heat like @bob does.
The one upgrade you may (or not) be most interested in is the front suspension fix.
You can read about it here and here.

·
Registered
117 Posts
The windshield is an absolute must. Im reading about the CTX700 mirrors and that seems like a good thing for us urban folks .