CTX 1300 Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
669 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I think most bikers 'paddle' their bike around with their feet to manoeuvre in their drive, parking, turning in the road etc.
I have very nearly dropped the bike, and possibly broken a leg, using this method so I have been practicing pushing it around without sitting on the bike.
I've made a little video, it's what I do you know, hope it helps others that currently paddle about.

https://youtu.be/GS9pVYdorDk

·
Premium Member
979 Posts
Thanks for the video, Dave.

It's like slow speed tight turns. I know I can do it, but I lack the confidence.

And, in my case, little room in my garage on the left side.

Reactions: djrose007

·
Registered
151 Posts
I'm only 5'6", 160lbs, and not a lot of upper body strength.

Back in the 70's when I started riding, I remember standing beside my bike (Honda CB350) and maneuvering it around...then it got "over center" to the right side and over we both went, with my falling on top of the bike. Luckily the bike was cold. From then on, I've been very cautious/leery about walking beside my bike, especially a 750lb one!! I'll only do it on level ground and only for a few feet.

I see this done by lots of people. All I can say is that I'm envious!

Reactions: djrose007

·
Registered
796 Posts
I feel you brother, I can move my 540# Magna standing beside it but not very comfortable doing so with the CTX. I’m 5’8” and not comfortable doing that. I have a back injury to boot that keeps me from doing that. I feel darn lucky to still be riding at 69. Off for a 350 mile ride tomorrow with the local V4 gang.

·
Super Moderator
5,411 Posts
I was that way for my first two bikes. The 125 HD was my first and most scary since it was all new to me. Then my 750 Vulcan was the biggest thing I'd ever tried to push around.