CTX 1300 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Been lurking on this forum for a bit. Seems like a nice crowd of people. :)

I have been riding for 28 years, since I was 14. Have only been without a motorcycle for about 4 of those years. Don't get as much saddle time as I would like due to having two young daughters. Life is busy.

I currently ride a 98 BMW R1200C. Really like the bike but it's 17 yrs old and parts are a challenge to get a hold of. I mostly ride on my 20 mile commute to work and on weekend jaunts when the opportunity presents. Did one 1,000mi trip this year over the Beartooth pass in MT this year.

My question is mostly regarding the prices on these bikes from dealers. They seem to be all over the board.

There is a 2014 used (non deluxe) model about 5 hrs from me listed for $10,500. It has 7,700 mi or so. I really like the color, and the lightly used price is more in line with my budget. Oh, it had an added top box and tall windshield. Those are nice additions but most likely I would take off the top box for typical use. Would only want that on for long trips which are rare for me.

There's a brand new candy red , non deluxe model at my local dealer for $11,999.

I think that my bike would be a trade in for the CTX, and hoping they would offer $3800 or more for mine.

Any feedback on the prices of these two bikes and would I most likely get more for trade on a new model than the used one?

My color preference is the black.:ty:

·
Super Moderator
5,723 Posts
Welcome to the forum @Bored2Tears.