CTX 1300 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all, I'd like to start by apologizing for my first post being a little on the negative side, however, I'm hoping you all can remedy that. I've been riding for 39 years, and I'm currently looking for my next bike, which needs to meet a rather specific set of requirements that don't seem to follow the most common motorcycles. In fact I've been a little frustrated in my search, with so few options, so Imagine my surprise when yesterday someone suggested I check out the CTX1300. My first thought was, "Wow! How is it I've never heard of this bike before?" Which I'm sure comes as little surprise to any of you.

I was really liking the bike's design, features, and price point. I obviously found out about the one year run, but that's not a deal breaker for me. Not if it's a good bike. I was pleasantly surprised at how many of my needs the CTX1300 met. I was actually getting excited, so I watched some pro review videos and I began thinking this could be the one! It appears to handle the twisties well, sounds good with stock exhaust...Then ...I made the mistake of watching several CTX owner's videos. Wow... What gives? Why so negative?

I'm serious, after 10 mins of listening to the first guy complain about the mirrors, the suspension, Honda "screwing the owners", the power band, the nonfunctional Bluetooth, the "subpar Honda build quality", the corner cutting and bargain bin bike build, based on a detuned old reliable motor, with "an over weight steel frame that really should have been aluminum". I'd just about had enough, and clicked on the next video, only to find pretty much the same thing. And other one who also mentioned their disappointment with the ala carte tour trunk, and so on. It was a real buzzkill.